William Jenkins - Captain, Shipping agent, Owner, and Harbourmaster 1807-1867

William joined the navy, for he was at the Battle of Navarino, 1827. He married for the first time in 1833, in Hayle in Cornwall,
but moved to Taibach Aberavon, by 1836. At that time he was captain of THE BROTHERS a coastal ship. By 1847 he was
both Captain and part owner of the TALBOT, an Iron Screw Steam Vessel plying between Port Talbot, Tenby, the Mumbles,
and Bristol. The TALBOT was sold in 1852, but William had UNCLE JOHN built by Josiah Mansfield, at Port Talbot in 1853,
another in 1855, and became involved also in the GEM in 1856. His third wife, Elizabeth, was the youngest daughter of Thomas
Davey, master mariner, originally from Clovelly, but later from Taibach also. William's involvement in coastal shipping continued
during the 1850's and 1860's, but as an agent, shipowner, and later, as Harbourmaster at Port Talbot. He died suddenly, aged
60, in November, 1867.

For detailed information: Contact: Colin Regan csregan@tpg.com.au Refer to CD: William Jenkins, of Port Talbot at the
Aberkenfig Resource Centre,Pensioners Hall, Aberkenfig, or at Swansea PublicLibrary Copies available from Colin Regan
Refer to articles in: Glamorgan Family History Journal (to be published) South West Maritime Society Journal (to be published)

Sale of the steamer Talbot       Sailing schedule 1847 for the steamer Talbot

 Return Swansea Mariners   Return to Other Mariners page